22nd Edition of Bapuna Cup inaugurated

The 22nd Edition of the Bapuna Cup was inaugurated by  Mr.Shiraz Gimi  Senior President of Bapuna Group on 10th Sept’17 at Dr.Ambedkar College Sports Academy ground. Mr.Shiraz Gimi assured continued patronage of the Bapuna Group in the game of cricket and said that the philosophy of the group is to encourage all sporting activities in the region and hope that the partnership of VCA with Bapuna Group will continue for many more years.


Also present were VCA’s Vice President Mr.Prashant Vaidya, Hon.Secretary Mr.B.S.Bhatti and CEO Mr.Farokh Dastoor.

The first day matches were washed due to incessant rains at Ambedkar College ground and Kalamna ground.

On the 2nd day, the Sun god allowed some cricket between Mumbai and Mpca at kalamna ground. Winning the toss Mumbai elected to field and restricted MPCA to 197/ 4 in 66 overs.

Wasim Ahmed is holding the fort with 69 runs. Four Mumbai bowlers shared 1 wicket each.

Scores in brief as under:

Tournament: 22nd Edition of Bapuna Cup 2017

First Match
Teams: Mumbai CA vs Madhya Pradesh CA
Ground:  VCA Kalamna
Note: 10 Sept 2017 (Day 1, No play)
Date: 11th September 2017 (Day 2nd)
Toss: Mumbai  won the toss & elected to Field
1st Inning (Madhya Pradesh):
197/4 in 66 Overs.
(Rain stopped play at 3:46 pm)
Day 2nd called-off
Samad Khan 13 (39) 2×4
Wasim Ahmed 69* (171) 4×9, 6×1
Rajat Patidar 27 (48) 4×3, 6×2
Shubham Sharma 31 (68) 4×2, 6×2
Parth Sahani 29 (47) 4×4
Anshul Tripathi 19* (26) 4×4
Abhishek Nayar 1/8
Suryakumar Yadav 1/16
Minad Manjrekar 1/41
Aditya Dhumal 1/54
Second Match
Teams Bapuna XI Vs. Dinshaw XI
 Ground: Ambedkar College
Note: 10th & 11th Sept. 2017 (Day 1 & Day 2 , No Play)
Due to Wet out Field the match could not get start.